Clearing browser cache

Instead of loading every page anew on each visit, browsers fetch previously loaded versions of them in order to minimize loading times. In this process, web pages are automatically saved into what is called a cache memory during browsing. This is usually a positive thing, but sometimes it can cause problems for users. For instance, the browser might show outdated content; or some services can behave strangely, or cease functioning altogether.

At times it may be necessary to erase the data your browser saves on your computer. This may be useful e.g. when addressing browsing-related problems, or in preventing other people who are using the same computer from accessing your browsing information.

Tabs

Detailed help

Mozilla Firefox

  • Select Tools -> Options from the menu (press the Alt key if you can't see the menu toolbar)

     

  • Click Privacy -> clear your recent history.

 

  • Select the kinds of data you want erased. Usually, choosing Cookies and Cache is enough (please note that depending on your choices, saved log in or form data might be erased).
  • Click Clear now.
  • Close the menu by clicking OK.


     

Google Chrome

  • Click the three dots icon in the right-hand corner of the top bar. Click Settings in the menu that opens.
    chrome-browsindata1.png

 

  • Click the hamburger menu at the upper left-hand edge of the window that opens. Click Advanced  > Privacy and security.
    chrome-browsindata2.png

 

  • Find and click Clear browsing data from the list.
    chrome-browsindata3.png

 

  • A window opens in which you can select what and how much history will be removed from your browser.
    chrome-browsindata4.png

 

Internet Explorer (IE)

  • Click cog icon -> Internet options (press the Alt key if you can't see the menu toolbar).


     

  • Click General -> Delete...

 

  • Select the kinds of data you want erased. Usually, choosing Temporary Internet Files and Cookies is enough (please note that depending on your choices, saved log in or form data might be erased).
  • Click Delete.